Divorce Lawyer Assisting Residents of Jackson and Surrounding Areas

After the court identifies and distributes marital assets, it will determine the need for alimony. In the event that both parties have sufficient earning capacity or the property division is sufficient to keep the parties from becoming destitute, the alimony award is less likely. In Mississippi, as Jackson alimony lawyer M. Devin Whitt recognizes, a disparity in the parties' income is the single most common reason for an award of alimony. And, while there are no preset statutory guidelines to help lawyers and judges determine the amount of any alimony award, the court will utilize the factors in Armstrong v. Armstrong, 618 So.2d 1278 (Miss. 1993), to determine the need and amount of any alimony award in Mississippi.

There are several basic types of alimony in Mississippi, including: (1) temporary alimony; (2) permanent alimony; (3) lump sum alimony; (4) rehabilitative alimony; and, (5) reimbursement alimony. There are also hybrid forms of alimony routinely created by attorneys that utilize unique characteristics from each type of alimony referenced above and combine them to fit the unique needs of the parties. However, the basic characteristics are the amount of the award, duration, whether the alimony survives death and/or remarriage of the parties, the tax consequences of the award, and the ability of the court to modify the award of the alimony in the future.

The first type of alimony is temporary alimony. In Mississippi, temporary alimony or alimony “pendent lite” may be awarded while divorce or separate maintenance proceedings are pending before a court. Temporary alimony may be ordered where the parties are married and living separate, one party has filed suit against the other for separate maintenance or divorce, and the court has jurisdiction over the case. Upon entry of the final judgment in the divorce matter, the party's obligation to pay temporary alimony ends, but the judgment will not end the obligation to pay any temporary alimony arrearages that exist.

Another type of alimony is permanent alimony. Permanent alimony is paid from one spouse to the other and continues until the death of one or both parties or the remarriage of the recipient. It is deductible from the income of the payor and will be included as income to the payee. The factors considered by the court for a permanent alimony award are the Armstrong factors referenced above, and Jackson alimony attorney M. Devin Whitt can discuss these factors with you. They include:

  1. the parties' income and expenses;
  2. the parties' health and earning capacity;
  3. the needs of each party;
  4. the obligations and assets of each party;
  5. the length of the marriage;
  6. the presence or absence of minor children in the home, which may require child care;
  7. the parties' age;
  8. the parties' standard of living during the marriage and at the time support is determined;
  9. tax consequences of the support order;
  10. fault and/or misconduct;
  11. dissipation of assets by either party;
  12. other factors deemed to be "just and equitable".

Alimony in Mississippi Cont'd

Client Reviews
Devin handled my case with the attention and compassion you need when going through tough times in life. I always felt he had my back and fought for my best interests at all times throughout the ordeal. I would recommend Devin to anyone in need of an attorney. In fact, I already have! Keith C.
From the first time that I met Devin he was very friendly, courteous and passionate of being the Attorney that he would want serving him. He spent countless hours working to ensure that fair treatment was being delivered to me and my family. Very organized, timely, response to all my request. I had a very complicated case that extended longer than anticipated and he stayed on task, very optimistic, very driven for results and was able to deliver what I was seeking out for from the first meeting that I had with him. He never mislead me or promised me the world. He was very objective and realistic in what he felt he could deliver. I appreciate all that he did for me during this time and I will continue to use him for all of my future needs. If you family ever needs honorable, competent, caring representation in a case, then Devin Whitt is the Attorney you will be pleased with. Michael D.
Devin Whitt was very helpful and successful on achieving the desired results for my case! My case was over a year long, and Devin sought additional ways needed to solve my legal issues. He could’ve quit and said, “That’s the way it is”, but he continued to go to bat for me until he hit the HOMERUN. Even after the successful case, Devin called to check on me to ensure that I knew the additional steps needed to completely clear my name. Devin was prompt when returning phone calls. I have recommended Devin once and would HIGHLY recommend him to anyone regardless of their legal issues. If you want to be successful in your case, don’t look any farther. Pick up the phone and call Devin! Immediately!! Parker R.
My experience with Mr. Whitt was positive from the first moment I consulted with him. I can't think Mr. Whitt enough for his help with my custody case. He was attentive, thorough, and helpful throughout a difficult time for me. He always kept me updated with the progress of my case and made me feel as if we were working together as a team. He was always available to me when I had questions pertaining to the matter, and he was always willing to take the extra time to make sure I understood everything in the process. I highly recommend Devin Whitt! Jennifer N.
Attorney Devin Whitt is awesome! He told me that he was going to do his best, and his best exceeded my expectations! For excellent representation, I highly recommend Attorney Whitt! Althea S.
Devin Whitt is absolutely the person you need to call when needing representation in a divorce case! He is the reason today that i have full custody of my 3 boys. Devin fought when nobody else gave me any hope. These days when many attorneys will concede children over to alcoholic and drug addicted mothers Devin said NO! He stood up and fought for me and my boys and we won. Thanks to Devin they are now in a stable home with me and their step mother, doing well in school and bright futures ahead. The alternative would have been living with an alcoholic and drug addicted mother and boyfriend. Thank you Devin for all you have done for me and my boys! Do not hesitate, CALL Devin Whitt today and be represented by the best!. David A.